Briefly, About the Art Festival

Sunday ended up being far busier than I anticipated.  It’s easier to simply summarize it as such, while also making it clear that this is a backdated entry and, perhaps, not winding myself up about keeping to a perfect daily schedule.  Life happens, so it goes.  Either way, I think I’ll keep it to sharing my favorite pictures from Saturday.

I believe the artist is Eric Caseiro

I believe the artist is Eric Caseiro

I cannot get over how awesome a steampunk anglerfish is.  The distinctive design to the stalk and bulb, using forks to mirror the teeth, and the eerie eye effect mimicked by the composition is amazing.  The sheer size of it too is impressive, making it worthy of being a dining table’s centerpiece, even all-year round.  Stick some dried leaves in the back prongs for fall, or wrap the stem of a fake flower around his stalk for spring.  Likewise, drop a cozy hat on its head for winter and an oversized straw hat for summer.  That is an incredibly silly and frivolous fate for such an impressive piece, though, so I hope someone who isn’t a complete dork purchased it.  Because, seriously, it’s amazing and imposing (look at some of the shadow it’s throwing off!)

From Linda Weisberger

From Linda Weisberger

Here’s the necklace I mentioned in Saturday’s entry and, yes, the photo doesn’t give a good sense of scale, but it’s pretty sizeable, fitting in the space between the tips of my thumb and curled index finger.  The cord is tightly braided, the chain extensions heavy and complementing the metalwork around the eye.  I adore the detail and coloring around the iris.

She had another one that, unfortunately, I didn’t think to photograph, though its eye detailed sclera with jagged red lines.  That one had come from a prosthetic eye.  The rusted frame worked with the jangly metal cord, interspersed with cogs, to give it a rather apocalyptic charm.  Compared to the one I purchased, it was far more sinister.

I have to admire the passion and dedication these artists have for their work.  Their enthusiasm is something to aspire towards and, in a way, I envy their confidence and ability to clearly talk about their work, to express their passion in a coherent and relatable manner.  I hope that I can work my way towards that level of ease so I can communicate more easily about writing.

Blather On Right Back